Skip to main content

Teaching Awards

The Accessibility Champion Award is presented quarterly in March, June, September, and December to members of the student body, faculty and staff for outstanding work in expanding digital access and inclusion for people with disabilities at NC State.  

Melissa Ramirez, Spring 2021

Claire Gordy, Fall 2020

Carlos Goller, Fall 2020

This award, coordinated by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and the Office of Faculty Development, is one of the most prestigious undergraduate awards at NC State.

Miles Engell, 2019-20

Jenny Campbell, 2017-18

Lisa Parks, 2015-2016

Jim Brown, 2013-14

Miriam Ferzli, 2012-13

This annual award, presented by Student Government, recognizes a faculty member whose usage of, and advocacy for, open educational resources (OERs) substantially reduces the financial burden for NC State students. 

Carlos Goller, 2020-2021

This teaching award was created to honor the creative pedagogy of NC State’s faculty and their work in integrating new technologies into effective teaching strategies. The award was first awarded in Fall 2002 and named for Gertrude Cox, “The First Lady of Statistics,” who came to NC State in 1940 to establish the university’s distinguished Department of Statistics.

Marta Klesath, 2012-13

The Libraries Faculty Award is given to an NC State faculty member who has contributed consistently and notably to the accomplishment of the Libraries’ mission, vision, and strategic initiatives.

Carlos Goller, 2020-2021

The LeRoy and Elva Martin Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes outstanding contributions to the College of Sciences’ teaching mission. 

Mike Taveirne, 2021

Alice Lee, 2018

The Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain a member of the NC State faculty. 

Melissa Ramirez, 2020-21

John Meitzen, 2019-20

Betty Gardner, 2016-17

Jane Lubischer, 2014-15

Miles Engell, 2012-13