Zoology

Ph.D. | M.S. | Master’s (non-thesis) The ¬†Department offers graduate programs leading to Master of Science (MS) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in Zoology, as well as a non-thesis Master of Zoology degree. ¬†Click on the above links to learn about the degree options. For the MS and PhD degrees, graduate work consists of a program of courses, seminars, and research planned in conjunction with the student’s adviser and advisory committee. The non-thesis Master of Zoology program consists primarily of coursework and helps prepare students for positions in science education or professional programs (e.g., human or veterinary medicine).

All interested applicants should identify a potential faculty adviser prior to submitting an application. To learn more about the faculty advisers who mentor Zoology graduate students, please see the below list of faculty members. Prospective students are encouraged to explore faculty websites and contact faculty members with whom they share similar research interests. If you have additional questions about the application process, please contact the Graduate Services Coordinator, Freha Legoas (919) 515-5712.  Prospective and current students should consult the Zoology Program Handbook to learn more about the program requirements.

Aday, Derek Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology and fisheries derek_aday@ncsu.edu
Anholt, Robert William Neal Reynolds Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Behavioral and and biomedical genetics robert_anholt@ncsu.edu
Black, Betty Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Molecular, cellular, and developmental biology betty_black@ncsu.edu
Borski, Russell Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Fish endocrinology and physiological, molecular, and cellular developmental biology russell_borski@ncsu.edu
Buchwalter, David Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Toxicology and Environmental Health Sciences; Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Integrative Physiology, Neurobiology, and Behavior david_buchwalter@ncsu.edu
Buckel, Jeff Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, Center for Marine Sciences and Technology Marine fisheries biology jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu
Burford Reiskind, Martha Research Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Molecular ecology of aquatic species martha_reiskind@ncsu.edu
Campbell, Jennifer Teaching Assistnat Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Ecology and evolutionary biology jenny_campbell@ncsu.edu
Collazo, Jaime Professor, North Carolina Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Wetland ecology and avian biology jaime_collazo@ncsu.edu
Cope, Greg Professor, Department of Applied Ecology; Department Extension Leader, Applied Ecology; Coordinator, NC State University Agromedicine Program Aquatic toxicology, molluscan and fish biology, physiology greg_cope@ncsu.edu
Daniels, Harry Professor and Department Head, Applied Ecology; Aquaculture Specialist, North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service Aquaculture of freshwater and marine fish and shrimp harry_daniels@ncsu.edu
Dunn, Rob Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Ecology and evolutionary biology of daily life rob_dunn@ncsu.edu
Engell, Miles Teaching Assistnat Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach, ecology and evolutionary biology miles_engell@ncsu.edu
Ferzli, Miriam Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach miriam_ferzli@ncsu.edu
Gilliam, James Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Ecology and evolutionary biology james_gilliam@ncsu.edu
Godwin, John Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Behavioral neuroendocrinology and neurogenomics john_godwin@ncsu.edu
Haddad, Nick William Neal Reynolds Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Ecology and conservation biology nick_haddad@ncsu.edu
Hinshaw, Jeff Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology; Extension Specialist, NCSU Aquaculture Extension Coldwater and coolwater aquaculture fish health management and water quality jeff_hinshaw@ncsu.edu
Irwin, Becky Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology reirwin@ncsu.edu
Klesath, Marta Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach, ecology and evolutionary biology marta_klesath@ncsu.edu
Kwak, Tom Professor, Department of Applied Ecology and Forestry & Environmental Research; Unit Leader, North Carolina Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Fish and mussel ecology and management, conservation ecology, production biology tkwak@ncsu.edu
Landin, Jennifer Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach, ecology and evolutionary biology jmlandin@ncsu.edu
Langerhans, Brian Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Evolutionary ecology langerhans@ncsu.edu
Layman, Craig Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology, food webs, predator-pray interactions, outreach and education calayman@ncsu.edu
Lubischer, Jane Assistant Department Head, Department of Biological Sciences Integrative physiology, neurobiology, and behavior; education and public outreach jane_lubischer@ncsu.edu
Mattingly, Carolyn Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Environmental influences on human health and disease cjmattin@ncsu.edu
McGraw, Lisa Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Behavioral neurogenomics lamcgraw@ncsu.edu
Meitzen, John Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Electrophysiology, cellular and molecular neuroscience jemeitze@ncsu.edu
Niedzlek-Feaver, Marianne Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach mnfeaver@ncsu.edu
Pacifici, Krishna Research Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Quantitative ecology krishna_pacifici@ncsu.edu
Parks, Lisa Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Education and public outreach, molecular, cellular, and developmental biology lisa_parks@ncsu.edu
Patisaul, Heather Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Behavioral biology, neuroanatomy, neuroendocrinology, and molecular biology hbpatisa@ncsu.edu
Planchart, Antonio Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Environmental effects on vertebrate embryonic development antonio_planchart@ncsu.edu
Pollock, Kenneth Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Sampling theory and survey methodology of wildlife and fisheries pollock@ncsu.edu
Reading, Benjamin Research Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Reproductive physiology and aquaculture of fishes bjreadin@ncsu.edu
Rice, James Professor, Department of Applied Ecology; Extension Fisheries Specialist, Pond and Reservoir Management Aquatic ecology and fisheries biology jim_rice@ncsu.edu
Schweitzer, Mary Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Molecular paleontology, diagenesis, and taphonomy mary_schweitzer@ncsu.edu
Shea, Damian Professor, Department of Biological Sciences; Principal Investigator and Project Director, Southeast Climate Science Center Ecology and environmental toxicology d_shea@ncsu.edu
Simons, Ted Professor, Departments of Applied Ecology and Forestry & Environmental Resources; Assistant Unit Leader, North Carolina Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Avian ecology, wildlife biology, and conservation biology tsimons@ncsu.edu
Taylor, Brad Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology brad.taylor@ncsu.edu
Zanno, Lindsay Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences; Director, Paleontology & Geology Research Lab, NC Museum of Natural Sciences Paleobiology and paleoecology lezanno@ncsu.edu