Meitzen Wins National Award for Neuroscience Outreach

John Meitzen, assistant professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at NC State University, has been named a 2016 recipient of the Society for Neuroscience’s (SfN) prestigious Next Generation Award.

SfN is the largest international neuroscience society, with nearly 38,000 members. The Next Generation Award is a national honor that recognizes SfN members who have made outstanding contributions to public communication, outreach and education about neuroscience.

Meitzen was recognized for his role as one of the pioneers of the annual Brain Awareness Night at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, which will be held for the fourth time in March 2017. The event features hands-on brain and behavior exhibits, talks from NC State students and a keynote by a prominent neuroscientist.

“The event is a lot of fun to organize and has been really successful,” Meitzen said, noting that the 2016 event attracted more than 300 attendees. In the future, he hopes to expand it to include targeted outreach to middle and high school educators.

The award also cited Meitzen’s work in creating a senior capstone course in the Department of Biological Sciences that focuses on an innovative inquiry-based approach to neuroscience. “This approach encourages active learning and engages students in neuroscience at multiple levels of analysis,” Meitzen said. “Developing and teaching it has been a very rewarding experience as I’ve seen students grow in their understanding.”

Meitzen calls the Next Generation Award “fantastic recognition of our growing neuroscience program at NC State,” noting that he has seen expansion of neuroscience research, outreach, interest and education across the university since he arrived on campus nearly four years ago. “It’s an exciting time to be a neuroscientist at NC State,” he said.

NCSU Grad awarded Brody Scholarship

!!!CONGRATULATIONS to Catherine Thriveni!!! Catherine is a May 2015 Biological Sciences graduate in the Human Biology concentration, with minors in Creative Writing and Spanish, and a Park Scholar.  She is currently studying abroad at the University of Manchester, UK. The Brody Scholarship is awarded to only three students in each incoming class at ECU School of Medicine. It includes full tuition, room and board for four years of medical school and a stipend for summer enrichment. The goal of the Brody Scholarship parallels the goals of ECU in serving the people of Eastern and under-served NC.

Catherine picture


NIEHS Center for Human Health

Congratulations to Rob Smart who masterfully crafted his NIEHS Center for Human Health which received the thumbs up this week ! In these lean times at NIH it is extremely difficult to get any funds, but Center grants are exceptionally rare. Rob has persisted and been rewarded for careful planning and crafting a wonderful team. The University should also be congratulated for supporting Rob in the planning stages of this project.

A round of applause for Rob and his team (listed below).

Jane Hoppin Deputy Director and Leader Human Population Science Team

Carolyn Mattingly Co-Director Integrative Health Sciences Facility Core

Cathrine Hoyo Co-Director Integrative Health Science Facility Core

Michael Bereman Leader Systems Technologies Core

Keith Linder Director Comparative Pathology Core

Heather Shive Associate Director, Comparative Pathology Core

Catherine LePrevost Community Outreach and Engagement Core

David Reif, Leader Bioinformatics Team

Fred Wright, Associate Leader, Bioinformatics Team

Heather Patisaul Co-Leader Molecular and Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team

Phil Sannes Co-Leader Molecular and Cellular-Based Systems and Model Organisms Team

Chris McGahan, Director Career Development Core

Jamie Bonner, Director, Pilot Project Program

David Collier, ECU Brody School of Medicine Liaison

Ricky Langley, NC DHHS Liaison

Susan Sumner, Leader, RTI NIH Metabolomics Core

Julia Storm Associate Director Community Outreach and Engagement Core

Greg Cope Associate Director Community Outreach and Engagement Core



Holladay Medal for Excellence

I am pleased to announce that our own Trudy Mackay is recipient of the 2015 Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, in recognition of the contributions to the university of Alexander Q. Holladay, who served as its first Professor of History and its first President.

The purpose of this award is to recognize members of the faculty who over their careers have made outstanding contributions to the University through their achievements in research, teaching, or extension and engagement. This award is intended to be the highest award made by the University in recognition of faculty achievement and a reward in recognition of the achievements and contributions of a faculty career at North Carolina State University. The award consists of a medal and a framed certificate presented at Spring Commencement. In addition, a permanent plaque is inscribed with the recipients’ names and displayed in the Faculty Senate Room. The award recipients are decided upon by the Board of Trustees, who will be presented with nominations by the University Affairs Committee of the Board in consultation with a university selection committee and the Provost.

2014-2015 University Faculty Scholar

Congratulations to ERIC STONE – recently named a 2014/15 University Faculty Scholar!

The University Faculty Scholars Program was established in 2012 by Chancellor Woodson to recognize and reward emerging academic leaders among our faculty. Each year, approximately twenty (20) tenured or tenure-track faculty scholars are identified to receive this honor.  Faculty members selected as University Faculty Scholars will carry the title for a five-year period and receive a $10,000 annual supplement that may be used for supplemental salary and benefits or programmatic support.

Fulbright Scholar: David Buchwalter

Congratulations to David Buchwalter who is a recipient of a 2014-2015 Fulbright U.S. Scholar grant to study in New Zealand for 3 months!
Dr. Buchwalter plans to study the impact of some agricultural-use chemicals on stream communities using experimental stream mesocosms.